I have a few favorite books and films that when reviewed at various ages have given me insight and sparked new inspiration, finding energy and phrasing that has a different impact as I age. I deeply admire anyone who can do that in their own lives and recreate themselves & their art – – becoming almost completely new entities over time. David Bowie (David Robert Jones, January 8, 1947 – January 11, 2016) was one of those people. His creativity matured but remained energetic and fluid. As a fan I feel the loss as a reflection of my own aging, the meaning David held for my various stages of existence. His grand narrative and poignant reflections gave meaning to so many sounds and visualized ideas in ways like no one else. 

Having lost someone to cancer a few years ago, I extend my deepest sympathies and good will towards his family and friends. Its a blessing and a torture; the process forces you to see through vivid eyes, holding close to every moment that you have then feeling guilty that you want them to be there for you…..never wanting to let go and grabbing onto every second together like a treasure, a gift …….but wishing them a different way – a release. 

As we let him go, above into the stars – we are all jealous of the heavens that get to have him now. 

Basquiat (1996, dir: Julian Schnabel) — I confess- I still have my Interview Magazines from the late 70s early 80s – I scanned the back pages of Vanity Fair’s party scenes  photos for any glimpse of the bright and scuzzy artists that I loved, including Andy and Jean-Michel…Having David play Andy in this film was a brilliant move (also note a few moments of Vincent Gallo, Tatum ONeal, Parker Posey…..) 

The Prestige (2006, dir; Christoper Nolan) — Again, casting David as a truly important character- a pivotal notation on the world’s stage; brilliant. I am not a fan of Jackman nor Bale but watched this with interest, finding it amusing but limited. Almost like something is holding it back from its real depth?? 

The Redford Theater in Detroit is playing 2 films featuring Bowie, The Man Who Fell to Earth (1976) and Labyrinth (1986)  – See them on the big screen if you can.

 

