2 important points for today –

1) My favorite films are very very strange, and

2) I had a few delightfully gorgeous moments with coffee this week …..

I’ve previously ranted about how much I hate lists and I won’t drone on too much this time about that ….but I was given a list of 500+ cult films with the idea of “how many have you seen”  and shockingly discovered I had only seen 306 of them …but many were Horror or Anime ..which are not typically my go to genres. Of course they had also left off several important cult films and used a few that were more representational of a Director when they really should have included a number of that person’s films. There was only one Tarantino movie and no Rodriquez, no Andy Warhol and only one Cohen Brothers, I saw only one Jarmusch but no Polish Bros. So as a representational set, it was seriously lacking. It was still fun to go through them and click off the ones I had seen and I think I need extra points for seeing some of them 5 or more times.

It was not a list that made me roll my eyes and I give the compilers credit for including some things that don’t usually make a list of cult favorites. SO this gives me the opportunity to share several, a few off that list and a few that should have been included …..and again, I have to question my own taste and think ..mmmmm…..John Waters really is a genius or I am very weird.

Let me also quickly say that French Roast beans, freshly ground with a dash of cinnamon and then just a small amount of hazelnut fake creamer is really refreshingly pleasant. We had a softly cool morning here in Michigan a few days ago so I grabbed the chance to sit outside with an article I wanted to read and this gorgeous cup of coffee. One of those perfect moments.

a few cult favorites: OR why you need to think out side the box of film-making. 

Twin Falls Idaho (1999) – Written and Directed by Michael & Mark Polish – Take away all you know about linear story telling, put on your post-modernist theorist cap and just enjoy those quirky little segments without thinking about what will happen. Yes, things happen – but that isn’t the point. Whats funny is ..what you think you know about them in the first few moments – is right! So trust your instincts and be delighted.

Mystery Train (1989) Dir: Jim Jarmusch – Yeah.. I said “MYSTERY TRAIN” but what I meant was any film my Jim Jarmusch that you can find and then watch all the rest of them. Because you’ll see one ..and you’ll think wow that was so good…that is my favorite …and then you’ll see another one and you’ll think, WOW that was so good that is my favorite. But then you’ll watch “Strangers in Paradise” and you think mmmmm that was pretty good, If I had seen that first it would have been my favorite but now I really think “Ghost Dog: Way of the Samurai” is my favorite. Then you get on a Bill Murray kick and you’ll see “Broken Flowers” and think ..uh …wow…its good but maybe not as good as “MYSTERY TRAIN”. So….yeah.

Barton Fink (1991) – Dir: Joel & Ethan Coen – Why, you might ask yourself…>Would you pick “Barton Fink” as a cult favorite? Above “Raising Arizona” or “Fargo” …..well..because the other of Coen Bros Films are fairly mainstream and seen by a lot of people ….anyone who knows odd films will like those…but you have to be just a little more on the side of …ok…whatever….to really love this film. At first glance its not really likable….and then you think about it …and you have a bit of a laugh to yourself about certain things ….and then you recommend it to a bunch of people.

Do yourself a HUGE favor and watch the original HAIRSPRAY (1988) written & directed by John Waters – read his books, watch his films if you are a die hard FAN but if you are a filmie – just watch this first version. Its THE musical, of THE 80’s that you should see.

Please don’t be afraid of foreign films; I get all itchy when people say they don’t want to read a movie …if you are really paying attention to the dialogue…that you have to read it ….its probably not the film for you …..Watch and enjoy, then later watch it again to read anything you might have missed…..its so worth it. ( I just realized all of these selections are FRENCH, mon cher) 

Leon: the Professional (1994) – Written and Directed by Luc Besson – One of those rare films that is fine in English ..you don’t really mind that is choppy and broken up a bit language wise; I saw it the other day on Television and even with the editing for commercials it was a fun albeit sick, weird film. Its another jumping off movie, you’ll want to see everything else with Jean Reno and anything written/directed/produced by Luc Besson.

The Triplets of Belleville (2003) – Written & Directed by Sylvain Chomet – I admit, I feel hoity toidy and snobbish about recommending this film….the music, the drawings, the story ….its so delightfully cultured …and yet ….so down home and soft. Its a homemade brewski with some 3000 dollar caviar.

Delicatessen (1991) – dir: Marc Caro – “Do I have something …right ….right ..here?” ..when you get that, you’ll have seen this film enough times. Its not for the faint of heart or the squeamish.

That is already a lot to think about …so I leave it at that….. PLEASE NOTE: This is not a list – its a few general off the top of my head suggestions — I don’t go with favorites or must see or TOP 10 or BOTTOM 5 or anything that indicates …a list. Just a few films, between you and I – that are important for filmies to watch.

