potty   If this photo of a bathroom makes you happy and think of Peter Dinklage and a sword ….we are on the same wave length….I am, as we all should be, excited for tonight’s premiere of “Game of Thrones“. As I set my DVR to record and prepare my living room for viewing with friends …I am reminded how many many ways we now view television and how strange it is when a show is so captivating that we actually watch it as it is aired. This past year I watched only “Empire” and “Walking Dead” as it aired. While I really enjoy “Big Bang Theory” and “Better Call Saul” I wasn’t avid about watching them at that moment …I set my DVR for “Rehab Addict” and “Jimmy Kimmel” to watch whenever I have some time.  For my favorite shows I not only watch as they are aired but tweet during commercials…..I still want the idea of a whole shared experience and that means having at least one other device and some people over on their devices to tell you what space they are sharing your experience.

This week also premiered the anticipated “DareDevil” a Netflix original and showed the first glimpses of “Orange is the New Black” which will be released in June. Netflix releases an entire season at once giving a push to the DVD collector’s binge watching phenomena. When you watch so many episodes it feels like one long movie and you wake up to find 3 of them have played while you dreamt of “Dexter” or “Doc Martin” being in your kitchen.

You can HULU, NETFLIX, buy the DVD or on demand or DVR or Youtube pretty much any show new, old or even (gasp) before color tv on pretty much any medium you can think of ….Do they do Laser Discs of TV shows yet? Then you can storysync, share, blog, instaclip, and myspace (hahaaha) any or all of your favorite parts, clips, pics, snaps, tweets, audio, hours, minutes, nanoseconds or screenshots with your own words …..whew…..for the amusement of everyone who watched with you and those that have no clue what we are talking about…..ever.

It gives a whole new meaning to overload and free speech. So while you are preordering those Apple Watches …..find a comfy spot in a low light, surround sound living room filled with actual people and watch a show as it airs. Then Tweet me (@thefilmmaven) or instagram (@voodookingdesigns) to share what you are viewing.

