Courtney Vance and Angela Bassett 

The Preacher’s Wife” — Courtney Vance was perfect for his role in this 1996 remake as the quiet distracted Preacher usurped in his wife’s affections by the dashing Denzel Washington. I just found this film too normal, too steady …..it might have been interesting if they had used Denzel as the husband …but its really worth watching and I give a big kudos to Courtney for holding his own against the STARS of this movie.

Angela ..well…..no one can discount her as the only woman who could pull off playing Anna Mae in “What’s Love got to do with it” The woman was a powerhouse from the first frame and moved easily around the beginnings as struggling artists to the last toss of that wild hair …while I have enjoyed all of Ms.Bassett’s roles, this one just stands out for me as a pinnacle of her strength.

Laurence Fishburne and Gina Torres 

I adore Gina Torres and her work in “Dark Angel” “Firefly” and “Angel” three of my all time favorite television shows – I cringe hated her as Jasmine and wanted the gang to take her out in huge action drama. Then I liked her just a smidge more when I found out she was married to Larry Fishburne…I don’t know what it is but they make such a great power couple! So for Gina, I full heartedly suggest anyone would love watching “Firefly” you don’t have to be a Whedon fan or even a sci fi geek to love it.

“Othello” I’m sure most everyone has seen “Matrix” and maybe even the sequels..but for Laurence Fishburne I’m going to suggest watching this 1995 film …its just an amazingly well done version. Now some may shift around about Shakespeare and maybe find the language an issue…but if you are a Fishburne fan or a film nerd give it a try. Fishburne smolders with emotion and carries passion and obsession around like its a weight he thrills to have in his life. oh, I just talked myself into watching it.

Ben Affleck and Jennifer Garner 

I am not a huge Ben Affleck fan …but …(haha) when you are a Kevin Smith fan you just have to go with the flow here…..”Chasing Amy” and “Mallrats” or “Gone Baby Gone”  are the reasons Ben Affleck is okay with me…You have to watch Kevin Smith films in order if you are a movie geek ..but if you are watching for Ben, any which way will be fine. I personally like him as a director and find his mood, scenery and pacing to bring an otherwise TV movie type story into good filmmaking. “Gone Baby Gone” the 2007 film starring his brother Casey is eerie and the rest of the terrific cast (including Ed Harris and Michael K. Williams) make this an interesting film to watch as the mystery plays out through a very character driven film.

“Invention of Lying” (2009) While Jennifer is often cute and reliable, her character in this film is quirky and its fun to see her sort of break that good girl romantic romp character into silly and somewhat naughty. A really off the beaten path film that does preach a little too much ( tee hee fun pun) but does a great job creating the world of honesty and its problems. Of course you have to find out what happens but it does take an odd lull as the last third of the film doesn’t find its way to the wrap up with the same energy as the first portion.

Have a favorite movie real life couple? Share!!

